Skip to content

While Listening to Simon & Garfunkel

January 24, 2012

Image 

I write today after having checked the bank account, my email account, my Facebook account and some daydreaming while watching the snow melt outside my window.  All this to say that it can be hard, so damned hard to just get on with it.  I sat down with the intention of writing but somehow I felt these other needs pulling at me because to write, for me, is to tell the truth and it’s simply hard to write about the things that hold meaning for me, what’s on my mind, what’s in my heart.  

As the title of my post suggests, I am listening to Simon and Garfunkel.  This the music of my childhood and of my life in it’s entirety to this date and hopefully forever.  My husband took me to see their reunion tour and I cried through most of the concert.  Fun date, me.  “America” especially.  “And the moon rose over an open field” that’s the line that always gets me.  One of the best songs ever written.

I’m pensive as usual, reading something into nothing, trying too hard and not doing enough.  I often wonder who in the world would want to read my thoughts on anything.  I write what I know and that’s me, mostly.  Me.  It’s funny that I want to change so much about myself, yet I wouldn’t want to be anyone else.  “I’d rather be a forest than a street, yes I would, if I only could I surely would, I surely would.”  See, Simon and Garfunkel know.  They understand and somehow knowing that helps.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mandy permalink
    January 25, 2012 7:51 pm

    I love to read your thoughts on life and you and everything else!! I’m not kidding when I say I check your blog every day to see if you’ve written. I totally get the “check everything before actually writing” thing. I have a tendency to do that too. But way to push through and write still!! And it’s good to want to keep improving, but I agree – I wouldn’t want you to be anyone but you either!!

Leave a Reply

