Skip to content

I Miss San Francisco

September 6, 2011

I miss fog and freaks and China Town and the Castro. I miss The Highlands and Marin and Haight Street. I miss parallel parking and walking up steep hills with my lungs burning at the top. I miss turning my head in any direction and seeing a view worthy of a postcard. I miss Osento and The Mission and the noisy Noe Valley apartment I lived in with Jake, the N Judah passing right under our windows all day and night long.

I miss Osha and The Tenderloin, Polk Street, Nob Hill and 1015 Folsom. I miss dancing all night. I miss The GG Bridge and Berkely. I miss the wide-eyed 25 year old I was when I moved there. I miss the feeling that everything lay before me as wide as the Pacific Ocean.

I miss the cultural riptide. The Trannys and the homeless, the crowded buses, the BART. I miss Oakland and the food. The most wonderful food anywhere. I miss old Chinese ladies shorter and slighter than me bullying their way ahead of me for a seat on the bus. I miss the Folsom Street Fair and all the joyous revelry. I miss Bay To Breakers and GG Park. I miss my studio apartment on Sutter Street right next to The Red Room, waking up to go to class and having to step over someone’s dried vomit not yet hosed away. I miss finding used needles in my bumper and having to wake up the man asleep half in half out of the gutter so that I won’t drive over him while pulling away and having him wake up and give me a cheerful “Good morning!”

I miss Stinson Beach and Muir Woods and Saulsalito. I miss The Warfield and The Filmore, Japan town and the Cherry Blossom festival. I miss the Chinese New Year Parade and the Fireworks shows over the bay. I miss Cow Hollow and The Palace of Fine Arts, and The Japanese Tea Garden. I miss the friends I made, most moved away now. I miss Yoshi’s and Sunset Beach, Ocean Beach and the Camera Obscura. I miss sea lions and going out for a beer, I miss walking culture, boutiques and the red Addidas Gazelles I used to wear. I miss I miss I miss.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 4:02 pm

    My brother just moved to SF last year; it’s always been his dream. (Kind of like how Alan and I always dreamed of living in a rainy foresty place like Olympia) We’ve never seen his place in SF so we’re going to visit him the weekend after this one.

    I love how many of the things you miss are the “gritty” little things. How long did you live there? When did you move?

    • September 7, 2011 5:29 pm

      I lived in San Francisco for 8 years. Jake and I moved away in 2004. I love the gritty stuff. It makes life all the more interesting, I think that’s why living in the ‘burbs now is a little off-putting for me. I am a city girl at heart.

Leave a Reply

